Tapan Sen

Tapan Kumar Sen is a politician from the Communist Party of India (Marxist) and a Member of the Parliament of India representing West Bengal in the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the Indian Parliament.

Had been a worker in Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL); a trade union activist since 1971; resigned from service in 1997 to take up an assignment as a full-time official of the Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU); Secretary, Steel Workers Federation of India; General Secretary, CITU

Positions Held –
April 2006 Elected to Rajya Sabha June 2006- May 2009 and Aug. 2009 onwards Member

Committee on Petroleum and Natural Gas June 2006- May 2009 Member

Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Fertilizers and Chemicals and Ministry of Steel Aug. 2009 May 2012 Member

Committee on Public Undertakings Aug. 2009 onwards Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Steel